Bishop, Lecompte lead Gold Miners over Nickel Barons


Release Date: Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2013
Gold Miners stay unbeaten by defeating Nickel Barons

SUDBURY – The Kirkland Lake Gold Miners rode a pair of two-goal performances from Mathieu Lecompte and Kyle Bishop to help propel them to a 6-4 victory over the Sudbury Nickel Barons Wednesday evening in Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League play at McClelland Arena.

With the triumph the Gold Miners improve to 3-0 on the young season while the Nickel Barons remain winless at 0-3.

Special team allowed the visitors to take the lead as Lecompte connected on the power play at 13:52 for the lone tally of the opening period.

The two sides then erupted for a trio of markers apiece in the middle session.

Lecompte made it 2-0 at 1:44 of the second only to see Sudbury strike back with efforts from captain Brett Dusick, August Jarecki and Kurtis Clouthier to take their one and only lead of the night and spelling the end of Kirkland Lake starter Marc Audet’s night, who finished with 13 saves.

However before the stanza was complete Everett Thompson notched the equalizer at 16:04 while Tanner Lafrance added another with a man advantage goal less than two minutes after that making it a 4-3 contest after 40 minutes.

The Nickel Barons did respond in the third getting a tying goal from Brody Brunet at 6:49 only to see Biship slam home the game-winner midway through the final period.

Bishop then added some insurance in the late going to wrap-up the night’s scoring.

Six different Miners had multiple-point nights in the decision that saw Jessie Morin turned aside all 17 shots he faced in relief to register the victory.

Jarecki and Jonathon Lavigne chipped in with a couple of points apiece for the Barons in defeat.

Andrew Lefebvre was peppered with 43 pucks in a losing cause for his side.

Game action in the NOJHL resumes Friday as Kirkland Lake hosts Sault Ste. Marie while Sudbury travels to Elliot Lake in pair of 7:30 p.m. and North Bay welcomes Espanola for their home opener at West Ferris Arena at 7 p.m.