Blind River’s Adam Newkirk named NOJHL’s top defenceman



Release Date: Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Blind River’s Adam Newkirk named NOJHL’s top defenceman

SUDBURY — The Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League announced Wednesday that Adam Newkirk of the Blind River Beavers has been named the 2012-13 recipient of the NOJHL Trophy, which is presented annually to the league’s top defenceman.

The veteran six-foot, 185-pound blueliner, who hails from Chicago, Ill., is in his last year of junior hockey and skated in all but two games for the Beavers during the regular season amassing 25 points on seven tallies and 18 assists.

He becomes the first Beavers’ player to win the award in a campaign in which he also easily surpassed his goal, assist and point totals from a year ago.

As Blind River’s team captain, Newkirk logged plenty of minutes each night helping solidify his teams’ defensive efforts on a nightly basis.

He was also earlier named a NOJHL first team all-star for efforts in helping bolster the Beavers’ defensive corps.

The following is the all-time list of the NOJHL top defenceman recipients:

Adam Newkirk            2012-13 Blind River Beavers

Corey Jackson             2011-12 Soo Thunderbirds
Joel Gagnon                 2010-11 Sudbury Kal Tire Jr. Wolves
Bronson Kovacs          2009-10 Soo Thunderbirds
Drew Otto                    2008-09 Soo Thunderbirds
Ben Davey                   2007-08 Soo Thunderbirds
Mitch Champagne        2006-07 Abitibi Eskimos
Quinn Waller                2005-06 North Bay Skyhawks
Quinn Waller                2004-05 North Bay Skyhawks
Bruce Winn                  2003-04 North Bay Skyhawks
Bruce Winn                  2002-03 North Bay Skyhawks
Jason Michelutti           2001-02 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Jeff Cochrane              2000-01 Soo Thunderbirds
Serge Dube                 1999-2000 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Troy Turyk                   1998-99 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Serge Dube                 1997-98 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Sheldon Cappadocia   1996-97 Sturgeon Falls Lynx
Derek Lahnalampi        1995-96 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Nicolas Cossette          1994-95 Rouyn-Noranda Capitales
Nicolas Cossette          1993-94 Rouyn-Noranda Capitales
Peter Johansson           1992-93 Timmins Golden Bears
George Wilson              1991-92 Powassan Hawks
Randy Koski                  1990-91 Sudbury Cubs
Randy Koski                  1989-90 Sudbury Cubs
Not Available                 1988-89 N/A
Not Available                 1987-88 N/A
Not Available                 1986-87 N/A
Not Available                 1985-86 N/A
Not Available                 1984-85 N/A
Not Available                 1983-84 N/A
Not Available                 1982-83 N/A
Bill Mills                          1981-82 Onaping Falls Huskies
Robin Chuipka                1980-81 Capreol Hawks
Robin Chuipka                1979-80 Capreol Hawks
Brian Gratton                  1978-79 Rayside Balfour Canadians
No League                      1977-78 N/L
No League                      1976-77 N/L
No League                      1975-76 N/L
No League                      1974-75 N/L
No League                      1973-74 N/L
No League                      1972-73 N/L
John Flesch                     1971-72 Sudbury Wolves
Gerry Egers                     1970-71 Sudbury Wolves
Dave Fortier                     1969-70 Chelmsford Canadiens
Bill Slewidge                    1968-69 Soo Greyhounds
Don McCulloch                1967-68 Espanola Eagles
Rich Pagnutti                   1966-67 Garson-Falconbridge Native Sons
Ron Burman                    1965-66 North Bay Trappers  
Archie Orazietti                1964-65 Soo Greyhounds
Wayne McQuaig              1963-64 Sudbury Cubs
No Winner                        1962-63 N/W

List courtesy David Harrison, NOJHL Historian

Please contact NOJHL Historian David Harrison at with information pertaining to previous league award winners from the missing 1982-83 through 1988-89 seasons.

Photo credit: NOJHL Photo Library