Blind River Beavers Cochrane Crunch Elliot Lake Wildcats Espanola Express French River Rapids Hearst Lumberjacks Kirkland Lake Gold Miners Powassan Voodoos Rayside Balfour Canadiens Soo Eagles Soo Thunderbirds Timmins Rock | Hockey Canada Canadian Junior Hockey League Northern Ontario Hockey Association
Official Site of the Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League

NOJHL’s Thunderbirds slotted 7th in latest CJHL Top 20 Rankings

CALGARY, Alta. – Boasting a franchise-record 22 consecutive victories, the Brooks Bandits (AJHL) once again maintain their firm grasp on the No. 1 slot in the latest Canadian Junior Hockey League Top 20 Rankings, announced Monday.

Brooks, 46-3-0, has already clinched the AJHL South Division title heading into a match-up Tuesday at the No. 19 Okotoks Oilers, who have 12 triumphs in succession to their credit.

Also riding a 12-game winning streak, the Thunder Bay North Stars (SIJHL) sit with an impressive 33-2-1-1 record to date.

Over in the Maritimes, the Summerside Western Capitals (MHL) are 12-0-1 since December 22nd and 31-5-0-1 overall as they move up to No. 3 in the 133-team CJHL this week.

The 38-5-1-3 Oakville Blades (OJHL) are the first side in their league to reach 80 points and are tabbed No. 4 nationally.

Manitoba features the Portage Terriers (MJHL) sitting in first place as they have gone 38-8-2-1 so far this season and remain No. 5 in the weekly listings.

The other CJHL squads in the latest Top 10 include les Cobras de Terrebonne (LHJAAAQ) at No. 6; the Soo Thunderbirds (NOJHL) No. 7; North York Rangers (OJHL) No. 8; Bonnyville Pontiacs (AJHL) No. 9, while the defending national Jr. A champion Chilliwack Chiefs (BCHL) crack the Top 10 in the country and pockets of the northern U.S.

The CJHL Top 20 Rankings (As of Feb. 4)
1. Brooks Bandits (AJHL) (1)
2. Thunder Bay North Stars (SIJHL) (2)
3. Summerside Western Capitals (MHL) (4)
4. Oakville Blades (OJHL) (3)
5. Portage Terriers (MJHL) (5)
6. Cobras de Terrebonne (LHJAAAQ) (6)
7. Soo Thunderbirds (NOJHL) (8)
8. North York Rangers (OJHL) (7)
9. Bonnyville Pontiacs (AJHL) (9)
10. Chilliwack Chiefs (BCHL) (13)
11. Swan Valley Stampeders (MJHL) (18)
12. Carleton Place Canadians (CCHL) (11)
13. Brockville Braves (CCHL) (10)
14. College Français de Longueuil (LHJAAAQ) (16)
15. Cobourg Cougars (OJHL) (15)
16. Yarmouth Jr. ‘A’ Mariners (MHL) (14)
17. Sherwood Park Crusaders (AJHL) (20)
18. Nipawin Hawks (SJHL) (19)
19. Okotoks Oilers (AJHL) (HM)
20. Penticton Vees (BCHL) (17)

HONOURABLE MENTION: Kindersley Klippers (SJHL); Hawkesbury Hawks (CCHL): Ottawa Jr. A Senators (CCHL); Inouk de Granby (LHJAAAQ); Titan de Princeville (LHJAAAQ)