North Bay’s Brandon Janke named NOJHL’s most gentlemanly player



Release Date: Monday, March 25, 2013

North Bay’s Brandon Janke named NOJHL’s most gentlemanly player

SUDBURY — The Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League announced Monday that Brandon Janke of the North Bay Trappers has been named the 2012-13 recipient of the Onaping Falls Huskies Award, which is presented annually to the NOJHL’s most gentlemanly player.

In 46 games during the course of the regular season the 19-year-old Huntsville native only accumulated 20 minutes in penalties, including just four minutes since Nov. 18.

His penalty minute totals were also the second lowest among the top 15 point producers in the entire NOJHL.

Janke was also productive on the ice scoring 14 times and adding 28 assists for 42 points finishing fourth in Trappers’ offensive numbers as well as tied for 15th in the league.

All-time NOJHL Most Gentlemanly Player award recipients:

Brandon Janke              2012-13 North Bay Trappers
Kurtis Barberie                2011-12 Soo Thunderbirds
Joshua Clancy                2010-11 Abitibi Eskimos
Brett Findlay                   2009-10 Blind River Beavers
Tyler Liukkonen              2008-09 Blind River Beavers
Adam Pymaki                 2007-08 Soo Thunderbirds
Matt Brunet                     2006-07 Abitibi Eskimos
Brent Henley                   2005-06 Manitoulin Islanders
Ryan Maunu                   2004-05 Soo Thunderbirds
Bill Schill                         2003-04 Blind River Beavers
Matt Restoule                 2002-03 Sudbury Northern Wolves
A.J. Tucker*                    2001-02 Sturgeon Falls Lynx
Josh Thompson*            2001-02 Soo Thunderbirds
Bobby Chaumont           2000-01 Sudbury Northern Wolves
Mark Loza                      1999-2000 Espanola Screaming Eagles
Jamie Chikoski              1998-99 Parry Sound Shamrocks
Chris Campbell              1997-98 Elliot Lake Vikings
Shawn Denomme          1996-97 Sturgeon Falls Lynx
Guy Legault                   1995-96 Rouyn-Noranda Capitales
Guy Labelle                   1994-95 Sturgeon Falls Lynx
Lonnie Mitchie               1993-94 Elliot Lake Vikings
Luc Gagne                     1992-93 Powassan Hawks
Martin Gironne               1991-92 Rouyn-Noranda Capitales
Danny Levesque            1990-91 Rouyn-Noranda Capitales
Rod Price                       1989-90 Haileybury 54’s
Not Available                  1988-89 N/A
Not Available                  1987-88 N/A
Not Available                  1986-87 N/A
Not Available                  1985-86 N/A
Not Available                  1984-85 N/A
Not Available                  1983-84 N/A
Not Available                  1982-83 N/A
Brad Boilard                   1981-82 Elliot Lake Vikings
Frank Gliebe                  1980-81 Espanola Eagles
Perry Cuomo                 1979-80 Capreol Hawks
Claude Blanchard          1978-79 Sudbury Cubs
No League                     1977-78 N/L
No League                     1976-77 N/L
No League                     1975-76 N/L
No League                     1974-75 N/L
No League                     1973-74 N/L
No League                     1972-73 N/L
Mike Zuke                      1971-72 Soo Greyhounds
Bob Sykes*                    1970-71 Sudbury Wolves
Bill Palmer*                    1970-71 Soo Greyhounds
Sam Grosso                   1969-70 Soo Greyhounds
Bill Buba                         1968-69 Sudbury Wolves
Ed Taylor                        1967-68 Sudbury Wolves
Bob Smith                       1966-67 Soo Greyhounds
Garrett Cull                     1965-66 Sudbury Wolves
Mike Buba                      1964-65 Sudbury Wolves
Bob Empie                     1963-64 North Bay Trappers
Not Available                  1962-63 N/A
* Co-recipient

List courtesy NOJHL Historian David Harrison