North Bay’s Dodds wins top goals-against average award for 2012-13



Release Date: Friday, April 5, 2013

North Bay’s Dodds wins top goals-against average award for 2012-13

SUDBURY — The Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League announced Friday that Greg Dodds of the North Bay Trappers has been officially named the 2012-13 recipient of Wayne Chase Memorial award, emblematic of registering the top goals-against average this season.

The 20-year-old netminder helped backstop North Bay to a first place finish atop the league standings during the course of the regular season by posting a NOJHL-best goals-against average of 2.25.

That marked the lowest GAA in the league since Mike Lalande of the North Bay Skyhawks posted a 2.17 average back in 2004-05.

Dodds also led all NOJHL goalkeepers in wins with 28 and save percentage at .928 and earned himself a spot of the NOJHL first all-star team for his efforts.

He also had a share of the league lead in shutouts with three while finished second overall in minutes played among all goaltenders at 2,235:38.

In the history of the NOJHL, Dodds’ achievement marks the eighth time that a netminder from a North Bay franchise has won this honour.

The last to accomplish the feat was Jeff Michael back in 2008-09 with the then Skyhawks.

Lalande earned back-to-back awards in 2004-05 and 2005-06 while Martin Perrault and Luke Oshell garnered the accolades in 2003-04 and 2002-03 respectively.

Prior to that Andre Lalande earned the title back in 1965-66 as did Gay Cooley for the Trappers in 1963-64.

The following lists the all-time NOJHL top goals-against average award recipients:

All-time NOJHL top goals-against average award recipients:

TOP GAA                   SEASON TEAM
Greg Dodds               2012-13 North Bay Trappers

John Kleinhans           2011-12 Soo Thunderbirds
Michael Doan              2010-11 Soo Thunderbirds
Eddie Davey                2009-10 Abitibi Eskimos
Jeff Michael                 2008-09 North Bay Skyhawks
Miles Williams             2007-08 Abitibi Eskimos
Brennan Poderzay      2006-07 Soo Indians
Mike Lalande              2005-06 North Bay Skyhawks
Mike Lalande              2004-05 North Bay Skyhawks
Martin Perreault         2003-04 North Bay Skyhawks
Luke Oshell               2002-03 North Bay Skyhawks
Eric Navarro              2001-02 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Frank Novello            2000-01 Soo Thunderbirds
Justin Dumont           1999-2000 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Jason Gaggi              1998-99 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Jarrett Rose               1997-98 Sturgeon Falls Lynx
Steve Fabilli               1996-97 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
John Bell                    1995-96 Sturgeon Falls Lynx
Mitch Perreault           1994-95 Sturgeon Falls Lynx
Jason Prior                 1993-94 Powassan Hawks
Jason Larouche          1992-93 Timmins Golden Bears
Peter Papadogiannis  1991-92 Powassan Hawks
Blair Molto                   1990-91 Sudbury Cubs
Cory Lavigne               1989-90 Sudbury Cubs
Alain Servant               1988-89 Rayside Balfour Canadians
Andy Rivert                  1987-88 Sudbury Cubs
Alain Audet                  1986-87 Sudbury Cubs
Alain Audet                  1985-86 Sudbury Cubs
Greg Telenko               1984-85 Capreol Hawks
Dan Jameus                 1983-84 Rayside Balfour Canadians
Alex Mitchell                 1982-83 Onaping Falls Huskies
Bert Kemp                    1981-82 Onaping Falls Huskies
Ron Katernyuk              1980-81 Capreol Hawks
Rob Kolnychuk              1979-80 Onaping Falls Huskies
Ron Katernyuk              1978-79 Sudbury Cubs
No League                     1977-78 N/L
No League                     1976-77 N/L
No League                     1975-76 N/L
No League                     1974-75 N/L
No League                     1973-74 N/L
No League                     1972-73 N/L
Pat Tims                         1971-72 Sudbury Wolves
Claude Taillefer              1970-71 Sudbury Wolves
Claude Taillefer               1969-70 Sudbury Wolves
Dave Murphy                   1968-69 Soo Greyhounds
Don Muio                         1967-68 Soo Greyhounds
Bill White                          1966-67 Soo Greyhounds
Andre Lalande                  1965-66 North Bay Trappers
Bill White                          1964-65 Soo Greyhounds
Gay Cooley                      1963-64 North Bay Trappers
Tony Esposito                  1962-63 Soo Greyhounds

List courtesy NOJHL Historian David Harrison