Voodoos 15th; Lumberjacks honourable mention in latest CJHL rankings

CALGARY, Alta. – The Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL) Top 20 regular season rankings, for the period ending Oct. 9, sees the surging Okotoks Oilers (AJHL) moving into the No. 1 slot overall.

MHL: The first-year Edmundston Blizzard remains hot out of the gate starting 7-0 to lead the MHL standings and move into No. 2 in the rankings with the Yarmouth Jr. ‘A’ Mariners earning honourable mention status.

LHJAAAQ: Two LHJAAAQ clubs in les Cobras de Terrebonne and College Français de Longueuil hold their place in the Top 20.

CCHL: Powerful Carleton Place already boasts 12 wins in CCHL play this season and has jumped to No. 9 in the CJHL while the 2018 Fred Page Cup-host Ottawa Jr. ‘A’ Senators moved to No. 12 nationally.

OJHL: Earning places in the rankings from the OJHL are the Toronto Patriots (17) and Georgetown Raiders (18) with the Oakville Blades and Wellington Dukes both picking up honourable mention nods.

NOJHL: The NOJHL winning percentage leaders has the Powassan Voodoos up to 15th and the newly-formed Hearst Lumberjacks getting a HM spot.

SIJHL: The 6-0 Thief River Falls Norskies are now No. 3 in the CJHL and the 2018 Dudley-Hewitt Cup-host Dryden GM Ice Dogs sit 7th.

MJHL: A trio of MJHL squads in the Steinbach Pistons, OCN Blizzard and Virden Oil Capitals are No. 11, 13 and 20 respectively in this edition of the rankings.

SJHL: Earning No. 5 in the listings is the Battlefords North Stars and Melfort Mustangs were tabbed eighth.

AJHL: With nine straight wins in as many games Okotoks is the new No. 1 in the CJHL and the Fort McMurray Oil Barons are 14th overall.

BCHL: The 6-0-1 Penticton Vees slipped to No. 4 in the rankings this week. Fellow BCHL members in the Powell River Kings moved to No. 10 and the Trail Smoke Eaters were tabbed at No. 19 with the Vernon Vipers picking up an honourable mention.

CJHL 2017-18 TOP 20 (As of Oct. 9/17)
1. Okotoks Oilers (AJHL) (4)
2. Edmundston Blizzard (MHL) (6)
3. Thief River Falls Norskies (SIJHL) (5)
4. Penticton Vees (BCHL) (1)
5. Battlefords North Stars (SJHL) (8)
6. Les Cobras de Terrebonne (LHJAAAQ) (4)
7. Dryden GM Ice Dogs (SIJHL) (9)
8. Melfort Mustangs (SJHL) (2)
9. Carleton Place Canadians (CCHL) (15)
10. Powell River Kings (BCHL) (HM)
11. Steinbach Pistons (MJHL) (20)
12. Ottawa Jr. ‘A’ Senators (CCHL) (HM)
13. OCN Blizzard (MJHL) (NR)
14. Fort McMurray Oil Barons (AJHL) (11)
15. Powassan Voodoos (NOJHL) (19)
16. College Français de Longueuil (LHJAAAQ) (17)
17. Toronto Patriots (OJHL) (HM)
18. Georgetown Raiders (OJHL) (10)
19. Trail Smoke Eaters (BCHL) (NR)
20. Virden Oil Capitals (MJHL) (14)

HONOURABLE MENTION: Vernon Vipers (BCHL); Hearst Lumberjacks (NOJHL); Oakville Blades (OJHL); Wellington Dukes (OJHL); Yarmouth Jr. A Mariners (MHL)