CJHL holds 2013 Annual General Meeting

Media Release

Release date: Monday, May 27, 2013

Contact: Kirk Lamb, President
Canadian Junior Hockey League
(403) 650-9027 (P)
president@cjhlhockey.com (E)

CJHL holds 2013 Annual General Meeting
New national regulations and initiatives adopted by CJHL

CALGARY, Alta. – The Canadian Junior Hockey League held its Annual General Meeting on May 23 in Charlottetown, P.E.I.

The CJHL Board approved several new policies aimed to strengthen the national organization for its member leagues, teams and athletes.

The CJHL will enter the 2013-14 season with several new regulations and initiatives, including the following:

* Stronger dispute resolution and appeal procedures for application of CJHL rules and inter-league disputes

* Sanctions for payment of players in any manner that jeopardizes or potentially jeopardizes their (or their teammate’s) eligibility to participate in college or university hockey at any level

* Sanctions for violating rules on the amount and type of consideration payable as part of a CJHL Player Transfer Agreement

* Creation of a “not-in-good-standing” list for players refusing to report to a team after a CJHL Player Transfer Agreement

* Introduction of a “return-to-team” rule for players returning from other levels of hockey, including NCAA, Canadian university and college and the CHL

* Adoption of a CJHL inter-league player transfer freeze from 9 p.m. EST on December 10 to 12 p.m. EST on January 1

* Formation of a committee to review the USA Hockey – Hockey Canada Transfer & Release Agreement

* Formation of a committee to review the proliferation of junior leagues which are not sanctioned by Hockey Canada

The CJHL will continue to be led by CJHL President and Chairman Kirk Lamb and the following representatives:

Management Committee: Ryan Bartoshyk (AJHL), Ron Whitehead (SIJHL), Kevin Abrams (CCHL), Marty Savoy (OJHL)
Communications: Charla Flett
Treasurer: Robert Mazzuca (NOJHL)

The CJHL, in partnership with Hockey Canada, will host its premier events on opposite ends of the country in 2013-14. 

The 2013 World Junior A Challenge will be hosted by Yarmouth, N.S. while Vernon, B.C. will be the host community for the 2014 RBC Cup National Junior A Championship.


The Canadian Junior Hockey League is a national organization comprised of all 10 Junior A hockey leagues in Canada.

The CJHL represents more than 120 teams and 2,500 players and has over 2,800 alumni furthering their hockey careers at the professional, major junior and college level across North America. 

For latest CJHL news and features, visit www.cjhlhockey.com and follow us on Twitter at twitter.com/cjhlhockey or @cjhlhockey.