Dudley-Hewitt Cup underway Tuesday

Media Release

Release date: Monday, April 28, 2014

2014 Dudley-Hewitt Cup field set
Fort Frances Lakers, Kirkland Lake Gold Miners and Toronto Lakeshore Patriots join host Dukes

Wellington, Ont. – The 2014 Dudley Hewitt Cup is set to kick-off Tuesday with four teams competing to hoist the Dudley-Hewitt Cup, Central Canadian Junior ‘A’ Championship, for the right to represent Central Canada at the 2014 RBC Cup in Vernon, B.C. from May 10-18.

The Fort Frances Lakers will represent the SIJHL after pulling off an improbable comeback to capture their first-ever Bill Salonen Cup over the Minnesota Iron Rangers. After winning Game 1 in double overtime, Fort Frances found themselves
trailing Minnesota 3-1 in the series.

Fort Frances stormed back with a 2-0 win in Game 5, followed by a 4-3 overtime win in Game 6 and concluded the comeback with a 3-2 victory in Game 7 in front of a sellout crowd at their home Ice for Kids

Concluding the season as the No. 5 rated club in the Canadian Junior Hockey League, the regular season shampion Lakers swept the English
River Miners in four games to reach the SIJHL Championship.

Forward Miles Nolan chipped in 10 goals and 5 assists in 13 games to lead all playoff scorers and was named the SIJHL Gongshow Gear Playoff MVP.

From the NOJHL, the Kirkland Lake Gold Miners, ranked 13th across Canada in the final CJHL rankings, captured the Copeland Cup McNamara Trophy as NOJHL champions in six games over the No. 1 ranked Soo Thunderbirds.

After dropping game 1, the Gold Miners rallied for three consecutive victories before clinching the title with a 2-1 win in Game 6.

After finishing the regular season in 2nd place with a 47-3-1-5 record, Kirkland Lake managed to unseat the top seeded Thunderbirds, who were crowned NOJHL Champions in 2012 and finalists in 2013.

The Gold Miners reached the NOJHL Championship with series sweeps over the Espanola Rivermen and North Bay Trappers.

Kirkland Lake forward Austin Rust from Algonac, Mich. was named the NOJHL’s Playoff MVP after registering 14 points in as many games.

After winning their first regular season conference title in franchise history earlier this year, the Toronto Lakeshore Patriots, who had already added another first to their history by winning the South-West Conference Championship, also captured the franchise’s first OJHL League Championship.

The Patriots captured the Buckland Cup by defeating the Aurora Tigersin six games in the 2014 OJHL Championship Series, after sweeping the Georgetown Raiders in the South-West
Conference Final.

The Patriots had gotten there with victories over the North York Rangers and Toronto Jr. Canadiens in five and four games respectively.

After leading all playoff scorers with 32 points in 19 games, Kevin Shier was awarded the Brent Ladds Trophy as OJHL Playoff MVP.

Toronto Lakeshore was a perfect 10-0 at their home Westwood Arena in the post-season and will be looking to take that success on the road in Wellington.

The host Wellington Dukes will be the freshest team competing at the Dudley Hewitt Cup, as they look to avenge their first round exit of the OJHL Playoffs in five games at the hands of the Cobourg Cougars.

Wellington concluded the regular season with a 33-14-6 record good for 4th in a very competitive East Division, which saw all five clubs make the postseason.

A yearly threat in the OJHL, the Marty Abrams coached Dukes will be looking to capture their 3rd Dudley Hewitt Cup Championship after capturing the Central Canada crown in 2003 in Fort Frances and 2011 in Huntsville.

The schedule for the 2014 Dudley Hewitt Cup is as follows:


April 29
Fort Frances vs. Toronto Lakeshore 2:30 p.m.
Kirkland Lake vs. Wellington 7:30 p.m.
April 30
Kirkland Lake vs. Toronto Lakeshore 2:30 p.m.
Wellington vs. Fort Frances 7:30 p.m.
May 1
Fort Frances vs. Kirkland Lake 2:30 p.m.
Toronto Lakeshore vs. Wellington 7:30 p.m.
May 2
Semifinal: 2nd round robin vs. 3rd round robin 7:30 p.m.
May 3
1st round robin vs. Semifinal winner 7:30 p.m.

Winner advances to RBC Cup Canadian Jr. A championship May 10-18 at Vernon, B.C.

For more information on the 2014 Dudley-Hewitt Cup schedule, statistics and stories, please visit the event website at www.dudleyhewittcup2014.com.


For further information:
Don Cotton
Tournament Chair
Dudley Hewitt Cup
(613) 848-4518