2014 NOJHL playoff timeline announced



Release Date: Monday, Feb. 17, 2014

2014 NOJHL playoff timeline announced

SUDBURY– With three weeks remaining in its regular season the Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League announced today it timeline for the upcoming postseason and the quest for the Copeland Cup – McNamara Trophy, which goes annually to the NOJHL playoff champions.

All eight member clubs will qualify for the NOJHL quarter-finals and will be contested from March 14-26 in four best-of-seven series.

The regular season title holder will take on the eighth place side with the No. 2 seed meeting No. 7, No. 3 taking on No. 6 while No. 4 and 5 will also square off.

From there the four remaining teams will move on to the semifinal round with the highest remaining seed taking to the lowest ranked survivor in another best-of-seven affair.

It will also be likewise for the other two squads still left in contention.

Semifinal action is slated to be played from March 28 through April 9.

After that is settled the two remaining clubs will vie for the NOJHL championship from April 11-24 in yet another best-of-seven series.

The NOJHL title holder will then move on to represent the league at the Dudley-Hewitt Cup Central Region Jr. A Championship April 29 to May 3 in Wellington, Ont.

Joining the NOJHL champion will be the respective winners of the Ontario Junior Hockey League and the Superior International Junior Hockey League along with the host Wellington Dukes of the OJHL.

Should Wellington win the OJHL crown then that league’s finalist will also take part.

At stake for the winner of the Dudley-Hewitt Cup will be a berth to the RBC Cup Canadian Jr. A Championship.

That nine-day event runs May 10-18 in Vernon, B.C. and will be hosted by the Vernon Vipers of the BCHL.

Also competing at the RBC Cup will be the winner of the Fred Page Cup Eastern Canada title as well as the champion and runner-up at the Crescent Point Energy Eastern Canada Cup as they square off against the DHC representative and the Vipers for Jr. A supremacy in Canada.

NOJHL playoff timeline

March 14-16

Best-of-seven series
1 vs. 8
2 vs. 7
3 vs. 6
4 vs. 5

March 28-April 9

Best-of-seven series
Highest remaining seed vs. Lowest remaining seed
2nd seed vs. 3rd seed

April 11-24
Best-of-seven series for the Copeland Cup – McNamara Trophy

Dudley-Hewitt Cup Central Canada Jr. A Championship
April 29 – May 3
Wellington, Ont.

Competing teams
NOJHL champion

OJHL champion
SIJHL champion
Wellington Dukes (Host-OJHL)

RBC Cup Canadian Jr. A Championship
May 10-18
Vernon, B.C.  

Competing teams
Dudley-Hewitt Cup champion

Fred Page Cup champion
Western Canada Cup champion
Western Canada Cup finalist
Vernon Vipers (Host-BCHL)