NOJHL coach of the year goes to Kirkland Lake’s Marc Lafleur



Release Date: Tuesday, March 26, 2013

NOJHL coach of the year goes to Kirkland Lake’s Marc Lafleur

SUDBURY – The Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League announced Tuesday that Marc Lafleur of the Kirkland Lake Gold Miners has been named the 2012-13 recipient of the Mirl ‘Red’ McCarthy Memorial Trophy, emblematic of the NOJHL’s coach of the year.

In his first campaign at the helm behind the Gold Miners bench, he led Kirkland Lake to a more than respectable 25-18-2-3 record along with a fourth place finish in the regular season standings. His disciplined club also boasted a league-low 612 penalty minutes.

Lafleur was also earlier named a NOJHL first team all-star for his effort in guiding his club in their first full season in the league as the Gold Miners.

The 37-year-old Hearst product joined Kirkland Lake after spending the last two years as an assistant coach with Rouyn-Noranda of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League.

All-time NOJHL Coach of the Year award recipients:

Marc Lafleur                   2012-13 Kirkland Lake Gold Miners
Tom McCarthy                 2011-12 North Bay Trappers
Bruno Bragagnolo           2010-11 Soo Eagles
Paul Gagne                     2009-10 Abitibi Eskimos
Ian Swalucynski              2008-09 North Bay Skyhawks
Paul Gagne                      2007-08 Abitibi Eskimos
Todd Stencill                    2006-07 Blind River Beavers
Darryl Moxam                  2005-06 Sudbury Northern Wolves
Toots Kovacs                   2004-05 Soo Thunderbirds
Paul Gagne                      2003-04 Abitibi Eskimos
Paul Gagne                      2002-03 Abitibi Eskimos
Paul Gagne                      2001-02 Iroquois Falls Jr. Eskies
Jim Capy                          2000-01 Soo Thunderbirds
Ken MacKenzie                1999-2000 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Ron Guy                           1998-99 Parry Sound Shamrocks
Ken MacKenzie                1997-98 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Ken MacKenzie                1996-97 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Jeff Brick                           1995-96 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Kenn Sullivan                   1994-95 Timmins Golden Bears
Guy Blanchard                 1993-94 Powassan Hawks
Ken Sullivan                     1992-93 Timmins Golden Bears
Guy Blanchard                 1991-92 Powassan Passports
Guy Blanchard                 1990-91 Powassan Passports
Brian Smith                      1989-90 Sudbury Cubs
Not Available                    1988-89 N/A
Not Available                    1987-88 N/A
Not Available                    1986-87 N/A
Not Available                    1985-86 N/A
Not Available                    1984-85 N/A
Not Available                    1983-84 N/A
Not Available                    1982-83 N/A
Ken MacKenzie                1981-82 Onaping Falls Huskies
Richard Pagnutti               1980-81 Nickel Centre Native Sons
Pat Tremblay                    1979-80 Onaping Falls Huskies
John Dediana                   1978-79 Nickel Centre Native Sons
No League                        1977-78 N/L
No League                        1976-77 N/L
No League                        1975-76 N/L
No League                        1974-75 N/L
No League                        1973-74 N/L
No League                        1972-73 N/L
Ab Carricato                      1971-72 Soo Greyhounds
Ab Carricato                      1970-71 Soo Greyhounds
Marcel Clements               1969-70 Sudbury Wolves
Walter Dubas                    1968-69 Soo Greyhounds
Walter Dubas                    1967-68 Soo Greyhounds
Walter Dubas                    1966-67 Soo Greyhounds
Red McCarthy                   1965-66 Espanola Eagles
Howie Parker                    1964-65 North Bay Trappers
Howie Parker                    1963-64 North Bay Trappers
Red McCarthy                   1962-63 Espanola Eagles

List courtesy NOJHL Historian David Harrison