North Bay’s Trevor Hunt named most improved player in NOJHL



Release Date: Thursday, March 21, 2013

North Bay’s Trevor Hunt named most improved player in NOJHL

SUDBURY — The Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League announced Thursday that Trevor Hunt of the North Bay Trappers has been named the 2012-13 recipient of the Gilles Laperriere Trophy, which is presented annually to the NOJHL’s most improved player.

The 20-year-old Mississauga native had an impressive regular season for the first place Trappers averaging over a point-per-game with the club.

In 43 outings Hunt tallied 22 times and dished out 26 assists for 48 points.

That was good enough to tie him for seventh best overall among all skaters in the NOJHL.

Of his total points, 30 of them came in his final 23 games on the 2012-13 campaign.

His contributions were also noticeable for North Bay as a whole with his team going an impressive 24-3-0-1 overall in contests in which he registered at least one point.

Hunt becomes the third Trappers player in the past four years to garner the accolades with Darnell Koosees and Matthew Pepin picking up the award in 2010-11 and 2009-10 respectively.

Also, Pat Honeysett with the then North Bay Skyhawks captured the honour back in 2003-04.

All-time NOJHL Most Improved Player award recipients:

Trevor Hunt              2012-13 North Bay Trappers
Tyler Brown               2011-12 Blind River Beavers
Darnell Koosees        2010-11 North Bay Trappers
Matthew Pepin          2009-10 North Bay Trappers
Tanner Burton           2008-09 Blind River Beavers
Dan Vernelli              2007-08 Soo Thunderbirds
Dylan King                2006-07 Soo Thunderbirds
Darren Smith*           2005-06 Abitibi Eskimos
Carlo Metatawabin*  2005-06 Manitoulin Islanders
Kevin King                2004-05 Blind River Beavers
Pat Honeysett          2003-04 North Bay Skyhawks
Patrick Diotte           2002-03 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Mitch Charette         2001-02 Iroquois Falls Jr. Eskis
Brock Lees              2000-01 Blind River Barons
Mike Corneau         1999-2000 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Luke Fram               1998-99 Elliot Lake Ice
Morgan Kenty          1997-98 Sturgeon Falls Lynx
Billy Joe Osipenko   1996-97 Timmins Golden Bears
Sean McTernan       1995-96 Parry Sound Shamrocks
No Winner                1994-95 N/W
Darrel Johnstone      1993-94 Espanola Eagles
Dave Sutton             1992-93 Rayside Balfour Canadians
Bruce Bouchard       1991-92 Rouyn-Noranda Capitales
Rick McKenzie         1990-91 Sudbury Cubs
Rick Chartrand         1989-90 Rayside Balfour Canadians


(List courtesy NOJHL Historian David Harrison)