Thunderbirds’ Joel Horodziejczyk named NOJHL rookie of the year



Release Date: Friday, March 22, 2013

Thunderbirds’ Joel Horodziejczyk named NOJHL rookie of the year

SUDBURY — The Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League announced Friday that Soo Thunderbirds goaltender Joel Horodziejczyk has been named the 2012-13 recipient of the John Grignon Trophy, emblematic of the NOJHL’s rookie of the year.

In 32 appearances during the course of the 2012-13 regular season Horodziejczyk posted a win-loss-tie record of 19-10-2 along with a goals-against average of 2.38 and a .918 save mark.

He finished third overall in the league in victories while sitting second in both average and save percentage. The 18-year-old Sudbury product also shared fourth spot in the NOJHL in shutouts with two.

This marks the second consecutive year a member of the Thunderbirds has garnered the accolades after Josh Hicks earned the honour last season.

The following is the all-time list of the John Grignon Trophy NOJHL rookie of the year recipients:

Joel Horodziejczyk        2012-13 Soo Thunderbirds
Josh Hicks                       2011-12 Soo Thunderbirds
Erik Robichaud                2010-11 Abitibi Eskimos
Brett Findlay                    2009-10 Blind River Beavers
Erik Belanger                  2008-09 Sudbury Kal Tire Jr. Wolves
Jarrett Burton                  2007-08 Blind River Beavers
Brett Perlini                     2006-07 Soo Thunderbirds
Nick Jelitto*                     2005-06 Blind River Beavers
Billy Stone*                     2005-06 Manitoulin Islanders
Matt Caria                       2004-05 Soo Thunderbirds
Christian Cundari            2003-04 Sudbury Northern Wolves
Matt Hall                         2002-03 Soo Thunderbirds
Jean-Michel Rizk            2001-02 Sudbury Northern Wolves
Jeff Rainville                   2000-01 Blind River Barons
Patrick Jarrett                 1999-2000 Soo Thunderbirds
Curtis Cribbie                 1998-99 Parry Sound Shamrocks
Morgan Kenty                 1997-98 Sturgeon Falls Lynx
Shawn Denomme           1996-97 Sturgeon Falls Lynx
Glen Detulleo                  1995-96 Timmins Golden Bears
Ed Lawrence                   1994-95 Parry Sound Shamrocks
Ron Newhook                  1993-94 Powassan Hawks
Luc Gagne                       1992-93 Powassan Hawks
Steve Sullivan                  1991-92 Timmins Golden Bears
Mike Dore                        1990-91 Rayside Balfour Canadians
Eric Danis                        1989-90 Rouyn Noranda Capitales
Not Available                   1988-89 N/A
Not Available                   1987-88 N/A
Not Available                   1986-87 N/A
Not Available                   1985-86 N/A
Not Available                   1984-85 N/A
Not Available                   1983-84 N/A
Not Available                   1982-83 N/A
Brad Boilard                    1981-82 Elliot Lake Vikings
Ken Burton                      1980-81 Nickel Centre Native Sons
David Matte                     1979-80 Onaping Falls Huskies
Doug Currie                     1978-79 Capreol Hawks
No League                      1977-78 N/L
No League                      1976-77 N/L
No League                       1975-76 N/L
No League                      1974-75 N/L
No League                      1973-74 N/L
No League                       1972-73 N/L
Jim Mayer                        1971-72 Chelmsford Canadiens
Dennis Crisp                    1970-71 Chelmsford Canadiens
Al Blanchard                    1969-70 Sudbury Wolves
Dave Murphy                   1968-69 Soo Greyhounds
Lloyd Bentley                   1967-68 Soo Greyhounds
Alf Maki                            1966-67 Sudbury Wolves
Andre Courtemanche       1965-66 Garson-Falconbridge Native Sons
Don James                       1964-65 Soo Greyhounds
Rollie King                        1963-64 Soo Michigan Realtors
No Winner                        1962-63 N/W

* – Denotes co-recipient  

List courtesy NOJHL Historian David Harrison