Sudbury’s Darcy Haines named NOJHL’s most valuable player



Release Date: Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Sudbury’s Darcy Haines named NOJHL’s most valuable player

SUDBURY — The Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League announced Wednesday that Sudbury Nickel Barons forward Darcy Haines has been named the 2012-13 recipient of the Carlo Cattarello trophy, emblematic of the NOJHL’s most valuable player.

The 19-year-old Haines was earlier named to the 2012-13 first all-star team at centre while leading all skaters in the NOJHL in goals with 39 and finishing second overall in scoring with 81 points, just one off the league lead.

Haines’ 10 power play tallies were the third most in the NOJHL and he also represented the league at the Canada East World Jr. A Challenge selection camp.

The following is the list of all-time NOJHL most valuable player award winners:

MVP                              SEASON TEAM
Darcy Haines               2012-13 Sudbury Nickel Barons

Jordan Carroll               2011-12 Sudbury Cubs
Brett Campbell              2010-11 Blind River Beavers
Eddie Davey                 2009-10 Abitibi Eskimos
Nick Minardi                 2008-09 Soo Thunderbirds
Jeremie Dorval            2007-08 Abitibi Eskimos
Dan Dube                    2006-07 Abitibi Eskimos
Brian McGarry             2005-06 Sudbury Northern Wolves
Thomas Laplante        2004-05 Blind River Beavers
Matt Tremblay             2003-04 Abitibi Eskimos
Sean Sheehan            2002-03 Abitibi Eskimos
Matt Shank                 2001-02 Sudbury Northern Wolves
Ryan Corcoran           2000-01 Soo Thunderbirds
Serge Dube                1999-2000 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Chris Shamess           1998-99 Espanola Eagles
Martin Birch                1997-98 Timmins Golden Bears
Darryl Moxam             1996-97 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Jeff Boulanger            1995-96 Sturgeon Falls Lynx
Andrew Bain               1994-95 Timmins Golden Bears
Jason Prior                 1993-94 Powassan Hawks
Gord Geisler               1992-93 Powassan Hawks
Peter Papadogiannis  1991-92 Powassan Hawks
Gord Geisler               1990-91 Powassan Passports
Eric Danis                   1989-90 Rouyn Noranda Capitales
Shawn Dubois            1988-89 Elliot Lake Vikings
Todd Vaillancourt       1987-88 Rayside Balfour Canadians
Lyle Wildgoose           1986-87 Nickel Centre Power Train
Alain Cormier#           1985-86 Rayside Balfour Canadians
Andy Cluett#              1985-86 Onaping Falls Huskies
Jasmin Breton            1984-85 Rayside Balfour Canadians
Denis Castonguay      1983-84 Rayside Balfour Canadians
Denis Castonguay      1982-83 Rayside Balfour Canadians
Larry Wasylishyn        1981-82 Elliot Lake Vikings
Frank Gliebe               1980-81 Espanola Eagles
Perry Cuomo              1979-80 Capreol Hawks
Tim Boyer                   1978-79 Nickel Centre Native Sons
No League                  1977-78 N/L
No League                  1976-77 N/L
No League                  1975-76 N/L
No League                  1974-75 N/L
No League                  1973-74 N/L
No League                  1972-73 N/L
Pat Tims                     1971-72 Sudbury Wolves
Bob Dupuis                 1970-71 North Bay Trappers
Bernie MacNeil           1969-70 Espanola Eagles  
Bill Slewidge               1968-69 Soo Greyhounds
Lloyd Bentley              1967-68 Soo Greyhounds
Rich Pagnutti              1966-67 Garson-Falconbridge Native Sons
Marty Reynolds           1965-66 North Bay Trappers
Marty Reynolds           1964-65 North Bay Trappers
Bob Leduc                  1963-64 Sudbury Cubs
Ron Allain                   1962-63 Espanola Eagles
# – Co-League Scoring Champion