OJHL’s St. Michael’s Buzzers advance to Dudley-Hewitt Cup



Release Date: Sunday, April 21, 2013
Photo credit: OJHL Images

OJHL’s St. Michael’s Buzzers advance to Dudley-Hewitt Cup

NORTH BAY – The third team to qualify for the Dudley-Hewitt Cup in North Bay has been determined after the St. Michael’s Buzzers won the Ontario Junior Hockey League Buckland Cup championship Sunday after defeating the Newmarket Hurricanes 3-1 in the seventh and deciding game at St. Michael’s College Arena in Toronto.

The Buzzers now advance to the Dudley-Hewitt Cup April 30 – May 4 at North Bay’s Memorial Gardens.

They will join the host North Bay Trappers and the Soo Thunderbirds as the two Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League representatives at the four-team event.

As the Trappers are the host squad, the Thunderbirds automatically earned a berth in the DHC regardless of the outcome of the NOJHL final, which North Bay currently leads 3-2 heading into game 6 Monday at John Rhodes Community Centre in Sault Ste. Marie at 7:30 p.m.

The fourth and final team that will participate in the Dudley-Hewitt will be the champion of the Superior International Junior Hockey League.

The SIJHL Bill Salonen Cup final currently sees the Minnesota Wilderness leading three games to two over the Fort Frances Lakers with game 6 in that best-of-seven affair slated Monday evening at Ice For Kids Arena in Fort Frances at 7:30 p.m.

Dudley-Hewitt Cup
April 30 – May 4
North Bay Memorial Gardens

Competing teams
Host: North Bay Trappers
NOJHL: Soo Thunderbirds

OJHL: St. Michael’s Buzzers
SIJHL: Minnesota Wilderness or Fort Frances Lakers

April 30

St. Michael’s vs. Soo 2:30 p.m.
SIJHL vs. North Bay 7 p.m.
May 1
Soo vs. SIJHL 2:30 p.m.
St. Michael’s vs. North Bay 7 p.m.
May 2
SIJHL vs. St. Michael’s 2:30 p.m.
North Bay vs. Soo 7 p.m.
May 3
Semifinal: 2nd round robin vs. 3rd round robin 7 p.m.
May 4
Final: 1st round robin vs. Semifinal winner 7 p.m.